CAMPdeclutter, Collections, Decorating, Homeschool, Vintage Finds
Comments 2

CAMP declutter: Bookcase Styling

I can’t believe that we are 10 weeks into 2017, how can that be? I am very excited to share with you this week’s CAMP declutter project, it’s a big one! Last week, I started cleaning up the far left corner of my foyer that often becomes a dumping ground. After I put all my envelopes and mail supplies into the old yellow box, I got busy cleaning up the bookcases.

 

bc-4

Click here and here to see my shelves when they were messy!

 

I spent a day or two purging books and rearranging them, they had been loosely organized by color, and now they are organized by subject matter.

I’ve culled these shelves about 5 times in the last 12 months, each time I get rid of a little more. A year ago, I started sorting out all the homeschool books from years past. Unfortunately, I added other books and board games, keeping the shelves jammed full. Why were there so many books on the shelves?

Like I said, I had to do that a few times, slowly getting rid or storing sentimental books. As a homeschool mom, books become a part of my kid’s life. It’s like giving away their favorite t-shirt or something. It’s one of the ways I know my kids, a math 7 book can make me remember Aidan in a way that I might not otherwise remember him.

hs-books

Check it out, I only need this small section of books for Aidan. Okay, I probably only need half of them. But, I feel better seeing the books, even if he does most of his work on the computer.

When I realized that these shelves don’t have to be filled with books, I started getting rid of MY out of date books. I packed up all my 1990’s Martha Stewart books and put them in the attic, and I got rid of every single cookbook that I’ve never used. I’m also donating about 30 Molly Makes to the Richmond Craft Mafia Craft Swap this weekend.  WOW, that was a huge, and hard to do. It’s always easier to get rid of things that aren’t yours, right?

bc-9

I’m still unsure if those Molly Makes bring me joy! I’ll try very hard to donate them tomorrow. LOL!!

Let me be honest here, these aren’t my dream bookcases, but I guess that’s obvious. If it weren’t for all the stuff that came with homeschooling for 13 years, I would have a nice little MCM buffet here with a giant round mirror hanging on the wall reflecting light back into the living room. Oh, that sounds dreamy! I’ll have to start working on that.

But in the meantime, I’ll make do with my cheap and sagging bookcases from Staples. Which was easy once there were open spaces on the bookshelves and I was able to style them.

bc-6

I started with adding baskets from around the house, like the catch-all basket that talked about a few weeks ago. My assortment of woven baskets add warmth and texture and had things that I just don’t want to see.

I sprinkled in some brushed brass and warm wood accents on the top shelves to spread that warm feel throughout.

feature-bc

I am totally in love with dark wooden birds that I got (50%off) at Target this week. The really reminded me of the Mid-Century Modern candlesticks that my Mother-in-law handed down to me forever ago.

nest

Lastly, I added in two of my favorite collections, milk glass and some of my larger enamelware pieces. I dropped a few low-light houseplants into the pots, rather than planting them, this way the plants can drain when I water them, and I don’t have 2 large plants to care for on a high shelf.

spring

The small plants in the milk glass are properly planted. I repotted some of them this week, it was nice to get dirt under my nails, I know that strange to say, but it makes me happy to get into some dirt.

I must say, this CAMP project was totally worth it. It feels fresh and springy, just what I needed. What have you done to improved

XOXOX,

Kelly

P.S. I’ve been keeping track of my decluttering costs. I’m not going to count the plants and accessories that I bought since they aren’t for storage. But, I’ll tell you that I spent $13.oo on the two wooden birds and $17 on plants.

  • CAMP declutter running total: $154.09

2 Comments

  1. Lisa says

    Your bookcases look fantastic! I know what you mean about all those homeschooling books! I struggle with that – we have bookcases scattered all over the house!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

