Design, Modern June Art, Portfolio, Surface Design
Leave a Comment

Posies

folk-art-posey-drawing

A couple of weeks ago, I was able to help promote Ink and Arrow’s new Sweet Rebellion fabric line with a free tutorial. I knew that I wanted to make an embroidered table runner, so I took one of my favorite drawings and used it for a project. Feel free to download the pattern here:  modern-june-table-runner-embroidery-pattern.

reversible-and-embellished-table-runner

In 2016, I created over 366 pieces of art, doing my best to draw and paint every day. I used this time to figure out my artistic style, so this I’ve used this composition a few times to try out different things. As you can see, I finished some and didn’t others.

wip-folk-art-flower-with-blue-birdfolk-flowers-pink-orange-and-yellowfolk-art-flower-posey

For this project, I took the original drawing and deconstructed it on the computer to create the pattern. I really enjoy making motifs and patterns with Photoshop and Illustrator. I have found that it’s an excellent way to recycle and/or perfect the 366 pieces of art that I created in 2016. I’ll be using process a lot more in 2017 to create surface design patterns.

Head over to my second Instagram feed, Modern June Art, so see the time lapse videos I posted at the end of last year. There is all is, the good, the bad, and the OMG of it all.

 

Leave a Reply

