fabric, Sewing
Comment 1

WIP Wednesday: Fractal Quilt

quilt-lab-cover

I recently started sewing again, and I’ve been in the mood to quilt. Even though I’ve been sewing since I was 12, I’ve only made one quilt. I made a quilt for my book At Home with Modern June. That quilt was a simple quilt that I made with 5″ scrapes, and it was similar to a 1970’s crazy quilt that my Grr (Grandma) gave me when I was just out of college.

Now that I have time to sew for my family I’ve turned to my shelf of sewing books for inspiration. I found myself intrigued with Alexandra Winston’s book Quilt Lab, and her Fractal Quilt pattern kept lingering in my mind. I was able to meet her at a Quilt Market when out C&T Publishing books came out in 201?.

fractal-quilt-pattern-from-quilt-lab

Last Saturday I set out to start two identical quilts one for my son, Aidan, and another for my brother. My brother, Steve, is a mathematics professor, so a fractal quilt seemed like the perfect fit. Once I got into my second day of sewing up the quilt tops, I realized that I wanted to keep the second quilt top for a pillow for Aidan. Steve will get something else for his birthday this year, and it will be “mathy” and cool!

I started off going through my scraps, rounding up red, green, gray and aqua fabrics. The rule was no gingham, or flowers. I also tried to stay away from dot’s, but that didn’t work out for me.

stash-of-fabrics-for-fractal-quilt

I won’t lie to you; I am a fly by the seat of your pants kind of gal. When it comes to the initial design of the quilts color scheme, I didn’t think too far ahead. I liked the colors that the author used in the center of the sample, so I followed her lead. I just made on simple change and switched black with gray, doing so lessened the contrast, making the fractal shapes more subtle.

tiny-red-scapes
The center of the quilt starts with these teeny tiny squares of red fabrics that are only 1 1/4″; they are cute, but they are so hard to sew!

chain-chain-chain

Here is a little secret sitting down in my sewing chair and chain stitching a stack of fabric is probably in my top 15 things to do in life. It’s my type of meditation. I just put on some music and sew, sew, sew!

center-block-back
Look at all of those little seams!

center-block

Adding in gray into the mix. This quilt is all about making pairs and then four-pactch blocks.

grays-and-greens

I’m love it!

fractal-quilt-center

At this point, I see that I want to turn the second quilt top into a pillow. It’s a wee bit wonky, but it’s mine!

aqua-blocks
It was fun to work with the teen-tiny blocks, but I liked working with the larger squares best. Everything went a lot faster, cutting, sewing, and ironing. The aqua squares were a pleasant 10 1/2″.

We all have a ton of WIP’s, tell me, what are you working on this week?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

