Cooking, Design, Modern June Art, Portfolio, printouts
Leave a Comment

Tip Sheet: Cake Flour Substitute

Introducing a new series from Modern June Art, my illustrated Tips and Tricks print out will help you navigate life’s little challenges in a pretty little way.

I’m starting off with a silly one, you might not need this advice but so many times, but a girl has to start somewhere, right?

Download: cake-flour-sub-illo-from-modern-june-art

 

country-living-cake-strawberry-limeade

Photo Credit: Country Living Magazine

 

It all started back in the spring when Country Living Magazine had an issue with the best-looking strawberry cake I’d ever seen. Strawberry Limeade Cake with Strawberry Cream Cheese Icing, oh my!!   I immediately ripped the recipe and photos out of my copy of the magazine.

Strawberry Cakes and I have a long history; it’s been my birthday cake of choice for as long as I can remember. It turns out that it’s also my youngest son’s favorite too. My mom made my cakes from a box with 7-minute icing. YUM!! All of Aidan’s cakes also came from a box, but with my favorite homemade buttercream frosting, dyed pink of course. Gotta love a kid that isn’t hung up on gender specific colors. In all of these years, none of his friends have judged those pink cakes either. It’s a great group of kids!

My eldest is usually the baker in this house; they even wanted to go to Pastry Arts for school until last month. (Side note: I use gender neutral pronouns when referring to Mac, they prefer it. It’s a little tricky when writing, my grammar program doesn’t like it!) But, lucky for me, they had to work that day, and I got to pick and make the cake for Aidan’s 16th birthday.

landscape-1456245946-cl-strawberry-limeade-cake

Photo Credit: Country Living Magazine

I’d been waiting months to make this cake! The cake was amazing, and it got better each day. If you try it out let it chill for 24 hours and then serve it.  I didn’t get any good photos of the cake before I knew it it was dark outside, and the group of boys waiting for the cake weren’t up for me to set up the light box. LOL!! Don’t stand in the way of teenaged boys and their cake.

So what is the tip? Oh, ya… The recipe called for cake flour, and I didn’t think that I could find that at Target. So I went to Thekitchn.com to find a substitute. It’s so easy to make cake flour yourself, there is no need to ever shop or stock it again.

1 cup AP flour – 2 Tablespoons AP flour + 2 Tablespoons cornstarch = 1 cup cake flour

OR

cake-flour-sub-illo-from-modern-june-art

Download it today and slip it into your favorite cookbook! Or, better yet, bake a cake from scratch using this tip today. Then tag me on Instagram, @themodernjune so I can see your yummy creation.

Download: cake-flour-sub-illo-from-modern-june-art

Happy baking,

Kelly

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

