fabric, WIP
Comments 6

WIP Wednesday: Hexies and Patchwork

I haven’t sewn much since I stopped taking orders last December. It took a long time to even want to sit at a sewing machine. Once I had the need to sew, I made myself a to-do list that I HAD to get done before I could start something.

I’ve really missed sitting at my sewing machine, putting on my headphones and listening to TV on Netflix. It’s like an escape from my normal life. Right now I’m rewatching/listening to Life. Love me some Damian Lewis!!

I have a couple of projects in the works right now. Yesterday I started making a fun and easy quilt for my hammock, it’ll tie on and it might even have a pocket or two. I’m hoping to have it done for the fall lounging season, it’s way too hot for it now.

Quilt-Top-in-progress-Modern-June

I’m using a pretty little fabric called Little Ruby by Bonnie and Camille that design fabric for Moda. I bought 2 jelly rolls and I making a rail step quilt top.

quilt-blocks-Little-Ruby-fabric---Modern-June

I’m also playing around with English Paper Piecing project, I’ve made a little stack of hexies for some new pillows for the living room. For this, I’m using a charm pack of Alison Glass fabric called Sun Print (2015). My sweet hubby bought it for me for Mother’s Day.

Alison-Glass-Sun-Print-2015-Hexies-by-Modern-June

I used 1″ EEP papers and a handy little acrylic template from my LQS, Quilting Adventures, to cut the fabric and make the hexagon pieces. In the end, I want to make some pillows similar to Fuller by Design, lovely pillow tutorial.

Stacks-of-Hexie-Love-by-Modern-JuneFor more hexie inspiration check out Diane Gilleland’s book, All Points Patchwork and her Crafty Pod Pinterest Page!

What’s on your sewing machine?

Happy Stitching,

Kelly

Save

6 Comments

  1. Sheri McAfee says

    Hi, Kelly! I really like your patchwork pictures! They both look fun to try. I am currently making a quilt, too, but I’m trying it all by hand this time. It’s a sampler quilt, and it’s been fun trying each block. I’m now working on the setting kit. Wow! I’m getting into another phase, so that’s really exciting!!

    Like

    • By hand?! Wow, that is really impressive! I signed up to do the Splendid Sampler in February, I haven’t don’t one block. Who know’s I might start it after all, you have inspired me.

      Best,
      Kelly

      Like

  2. Pingback: Chicken Obsessed! | Modern June: The Oilcloth Addict

Leave a Reply

