Cooking, Life
Leave a Comment

New Mamma Salad

This blog post was first posted on Oilcloth Addict blog in the summer of 2o14.  Since I posted it 2 years ago, I’ve tweaked it a bit and I’ve given it a new name. The New Mamma Asian Salad is the yummiest salad ever.

I have one, that go-to recipe that we pull out for every new baby, pot luck and sick friend. Mine is this Asian Chicken Salad! I must say, I haven’t been a very good friend lately. Know how I can tell?

My dear friend, Christi, recently injured her thumb in a horrific manner (eek) and needed a little TLC! I was pleased as punch when she asked if I could bring up my Asian Chicken Salad and to stay for a visit. This is the salad I brought her when her second son was born nearly 14 years ago (YIKES).

 

This is my pot luck quantity, cut in half for dinner time.

Asian Chicken Salad

  • 6  boneless chicken breasts, marinated S & P, olive oil and a dash of sesame seed oil
  • 8 oz of thin rice noodles
  • 2 tbs sesame seeds, toasted
  • 1/4 cup of slivered almonds, toasted
  • 4 small heads of romaine lettuce, cut into strips
  • 8 stalks of green onions, chopped

Make rice noodles according to the instructions on package and chill. A quick ice bath is handy if you are running low on time, drain excess water and chop noodles into 2 inch pieces. Grill or pan sear marinated chicken and cut into strips. Toast almonds and sesame seeds in skillet without oil to toast.

Arrange salad into big bowl and top with noodles, chicken, almonds, seeds and onion. Pour on the dressing and toss.

Dressing:

  • 4 tbs of sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 2 tbs of sesame oil
  • 6 tbs of rice wine vinegar

 

herb+stripper-MJ
Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

