Oilcloth Addict Tips, Parties
Leave a Comment

Perfect Pairings: Super Bowl Party

Preparing for your annual Super Bowl party doesn’t have to take a lot of work, not when you use oilcloth and make a Target run. Check out how I take 4 yards of oilcloth to make a “Super” party for next months big game.

Super-Bowl-Party-Tablecloth

I started with 2 yards of oilcloth and laid it across the width of the table. Oilcloth doesn’t not fray or ravel so i just need to true up the corners to make sure the that I had a perfect rectangle. Use your rotary cutter, ruler and mat, or a simple pair of scissors. Seriously, it only takes 10 minutes to make it pretty and practical.

Oilcloth cleans up fast and protects your tables while showing your team sprite. To clean, just wipe clean with a gentle cleaning spray and damp cloth. Easy peasy.

Navy-Gingham-Oilcloth-with-dot-plate

I’m not kidding you when I tell you that I don’t know a single thing about football, but I do know how to shop for fun party goods. Thanks to Google I know the team colors for the Patriots and the Seahawks so I headed out to Target so see what fun I could find.

When I’m shopping for a party with a particular color scheme I like to look for low-price pieces that I can use for other parties as well. This melamine plate with red dots is perfect for Valentine’s Day, Christmas, and my 4th of July Cookout; I’ll use these as plates and platters for years to come.

Navy-Gimgham-red-baking-cup-

I bought these fun paper bakeware cups at Target back in December for my holiday baking, they are wax coated and strong enough to stand up to bread dough or cake batter. Hmm… Pretty and practical! I’m going to use them for small snacks for every party I host!

thermos-drink-station-

I grabbed some blue plastic cups and color-coded straws for my Patriot’s drink station. I pulled down my vintage Thermoses to use as drink cantors. Ooo… We could use them as cocktail shakers, couldn’t we? Fun!

red-oilcloths

Here are some other great oilcloths for the Patriot Party! Red stripes, gingham, dots and dots on red.

For the Seahawks party table I stuck with the navy gingham oilcloth tablecloth. I love how the lime green plates pop off the navy and mixes with the grey napkins. I really like their team colors, who knew?

Runner

I am totally in love with the 1″ picnic check oilcloth in lime green, and how it contrasts with my mid-century buffet. I cut two yards of oilcloth down into a narrow table runner, I just followed the checks with a pair of scissors. The finished dimensions for my oilcloth runner were 16″ x 72″.

Oilcloth-Table-Runner-Lime-Gingham

Of course, it’s always best to shop your own stash. I looked through my cabinets to see what I might have on had that might fit in with my Seahawks party theme, of course my old Fiestaware pitcher in cobalt blue is perfect. In my option, milk glass works for every occasion; I use my (MG) glasses for straws and silverware all the time. Using old jam jars as drinking glasses is very cool-casual drinking, pair them with brightly colored straws and your set.

green-gingham,-dot-and-check-oilcloth

Other great oilcloths that would make a Seahawk fans party pretty and bright; checks, dots, and gingham.

Leave a Reply

