Decorating, Oilcloth Addict Tutorials, Sewing
Comments 3

Organize It: Linen Closet

January really should be national organization month, don’t you agree? We all want a fresh start, a pretty place to nest for the winter. Why not start in the linen closet?

Full-Linen-Closet-with-oilcloth-shelf-liners

My linen closet is lined with Scalloped Oilcloth Shelf Liners that  help to keep my small closet looking bright and happy. Now I keep my closet tidy because it looks so darn cute. The oilcloth is easy to clean, if one of my cleaners springs a leak I just need to wipe it off with a damp cloth. I made the pattern in support of my book, At Home with Modern June. You can find the free Scalloped Oilcloth Shelf Lining tutorial at Sew Mama Sew.

Lined-Laminated-Cotton-Baskets-At-Home-with-Modern-June

On top of the shelf liners I have sorted my towels and blankets by size and I keep our sheet sets bundled and tied up with rick rack. I lined small inexpensive baskets from Target with laminated cotton keep cleaners and wash cloths in check. I have a customizable pattern for the basket liners in, At Home with Modern June. I can’t tell you how much my family loves these, we use them all over the house. Laminated cotton comes in so many colors and prints, so it’s easy to coordinate with you decor.

Modern-June-Linen-Closet-Cleaning-Supplies

Attractive cleaning supplies are easy to find these days so why not get fancy? Decide on a color theme for these essentials, as you buy new supplies pick within your colors and soon you will have a coordinated cleaning kit. Glass jars and canisters from the kitchen can help you see your extra bathroom supplies, with a quick glance you know to stock up.

Laminated-Cotton-Lined-Basket-Modern-June-

Let me tell you the truth, getting the linen closet to the decluttered state was challenging. My secret to success is Fly Lady!! I found her when I was a new mom and I was desperate to get my life in order, she taught me everything I know about killing clutter and keeping house. Below you’ll find Leanne’s best tip, I’ve been following this method for about 14 years. Get more Flying Lessons at FlyLady.net.

Decluttering 101

You will need garbage bags, boxes, magic markers, and a dust rag. Label the boxes “Give Away,” “Throw Away,” and “Put Away.” Line the “Throw Away” box with a plastic garbage bag.

Set your timer for one hour (or 30, 15, or 10 minutes — it doesn’t matter how long). Just do the job as fast as you can, and do not pull out more stuff than you can put away in that length of time. This means just one drawer, one closet (or even one shelf in one closet), one magazine rack, or digging under just the furniture in the zone. Don’t do all of them at once!

Need more help getting motivated? Here’s a little link list for all the inspiration that you need.

Happy organizing and sewing my friends!!

Siggie

Photo Credit: Meghan McSweeney

3 Comments

  1. Oh you read my mind when you started talking about organizing! That’s my main goal for this year. I’m going to look for some of these cute wire baskets and make some liners like these. So pretty for any area of your home!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Q and A: Shelf Liners! | Modern June: The Oilcloth Addict

  3. Nancy Hurt says

    Kelly, I knew we were kindred spirits..I’m also a big Fly Lady fan…only I didn’t find her until a year ago. She changed my life and my home life! Where was she 30 years ago when my kids were little?? I just lined all of my cabinets with oil cloth but will have to go back and do the scallops on my glass door fronts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

