Life, Parties
Comment 1

Fake Bake: Blue Baking

I shared my favorite paint color with you yesterday, it’s the color of my living room and my home studio. But my color crush for Modern June Blue doesn’t end there! Whether you call it aqua or turquoise it’s just down right pretty!!

Since blue’s not just for walls…

Over the weekend I totally dismantled my Modern June studio (#MJHQ) so I could find room for my friend Tony from Feathernesters fame! While I moved my fabric from one wall to another I watched my favorite movie!! Can you guess what movie that is?

Bridget: How’s it look?
Mark: Uh, great. It’s, um, blue.
Bridget: Blue?
Mark: No, but, blue is good. If you ask me there isn’t enough blue food.
Bridget: Oh, shit! It must be the string.
Mark: Oh, it’s string soup?

 Yep, you guessed it, Bridget Jones Diary! So let’s do some fake baking with one of my favorite colors. What is a Fake Bake? Well, it’s when I pretend that I’m a really good baker with a pantry the size of Crate and Barrel! Fun, right?

Aqua-Kitchen-Aid-Mixer

Don’t you want to use this pretty aqua blue Kitchen Aid Mixer so that you can bake these pretty macarons? I don’t know about you, but I love my (red) Kitchen Aid. In fact I would like one in every color! Yes, my kitchen would look like a retail home goods department, but is that so wrong?

Original_Heather-Baird-SprinkleBakes-Tiffany-blue-macarons-1_s3x4.jpg.rend.hgtvcom.616.822-1

Tiffany-Blue Macarons With Orange Blossom Buttercream. Recipe by Heather Baird found on HGTV.

IMG_4633Oooo… What about a gorgeous ombré cake like the one that Where the Young Learn To Fly made? Yay and Yum! I can’t wait to try out this icing technique that I am Baker shows us how to do in her video. I actually think I could pull this off.

il_570xN.459951348_jbqfEvery pretty cake stand needs a pedestal cake plate. Jeanette Zeis has a very impressive range of pottery in fresh colors! She makes cake plates in 3 sizes and in 10 lovely colors. LOVE!!

il_570xN.703752540_51qh If we are going to eat fancy treats we might as well have a proper cup of tea, right?  I say we should go vintage with this fake bake! I’m swooning over this gorgeous Royal Stafford tea cup and saucer. Can’t you see me sipping out of this while I watch the new season of Downton Abby? 

ceramic-measuring-cups-Aqua-Mason-Jar

World Market measuring cups make measuring fun and quirky!

Cake-Pan-Aqua-MED

Have you seen all the paper baking pans that are showing up here and there? I bought some before Christmas at Target but I haven’t used them yet. I must say the ones I bought are not as cool as these are! Disposable bunt pan in AQUA??? Yep, that’s totally cool! Giving home baked goodies as gifts has never been prettier.  Sugar Diva’s website is full of pretty aqua party goods.

il_570xN.250290681What would a blue baker blog post be without some aqua bakers twine from Timeless Twine? (It’s on sale!)

Oilcloth-Combo-Blue-Gingham-and-DoiliesOf course we have to have some pretty Modern June oilcloth on the table! Doilies and gingham, a lovely combination. The best part of oilcloth is that you can create a tablecloth or table runner easy as pie. Just cut it to size, square up the corners and your done. Oilcloth does not fray or ravel, so you don’t need to hem or trim the edges!

I don’t know about you, but I need a treat now! Grab cup of tea and a cookie or two and have a great day!

Siggie

1 Comment

  1. Faded Velvet says

    Kelly~I love this color;it makes me want to redecorate my whole house! That mixer is my favorite. I saw one like it at Target and my mind raced to adding it to my kitchen even though my kitchen is black and white and Kelly green!! Thanks for sharing your fake bake (I really hate baking). Donna

    Like

Leave a Reply

